Prickle’s Press


Congratulations to our Division Two weekend pennant side. Premiers! After a close match against Mathoura, which saw the lead change many times throughout the afternoon, the Echuca side just held on to take the win by a single shot. This means back-to-back Division Two premierships for the club, which is an incredible effort by the players. Carl Davis and his team of Dennis Portwine, Bill Cook and Ian Whiting produced another strong performance to win their game by 14 shots. Garry Hunter, John O’Brien, Eddie Blampied and Carly Taylor were locked in a close match all afternoon, only to lose on the final end by 4 shots. John Brown, Jim Thomas, Max Bennett and Col Berryman fought hard all day and kept their eye on the overall board, keeping any losses to a minimum. They eventually lost their game by 9 shots. It was a tired but very happy group of players who celebrated at the club on Saturday evening.

Congratulations also to Geoff Beattie, George Thornley, Mark Evans and Tony Hawley who returned home from the Tongala fours last Sunday with the runners-up prizes. At the Nathalia triples last week, Michelle Cunnington, Rhonda Gallagher and Marie Davie also gained the runners-up prizes, and at the same tournament, Pat Schram, Kristy Gillingham and Joan Armstrong won best last game.

Bowls results:

  • Twilight triples – Monday, March 20th
  1. Keith Robertson, Shirley McGann and Bev Mills
  2. Gary Trotter, Jac Wagner and Anna Meyer

  • Skirts vs Shirts – Tuesday, March 21st
  1. Noel West, Tony Hawley and Lorelle Opthoog

  • Men’s pairs – Thursday, March 23rd
  1. John Elliott and Cyril Napier
  2. Ray Milne and Col Berryman

Vouchers: John Hollowood, George Mills, George Thornley, Tony Hawley and Barry Shackelton

Harvest Award: Barry Devlin